Fundación Instituto de Nanociencia de Aragón

Scientific Management

Professor M. Ricardo Ibarra, head of the INA since its establishment at 2003, has been developing his academic and research activity as Full Professor at the University of Zaragoza since 1995.

He was head of Condensed Matter Physic Department (1993-2000), commissioned for the foundation of the Institute of Nanoscience of Aragon (INA) in 2000, and Director since its foundation in 2003.

Furthermore, he is Director of the Advanced Microscopy Laboratory (LMA) since 2007. He has been selected as Member of several Advisory Committee Boards. He is head of the Magnetism Section of the European Physical Society since 2000, and he was awarded Doctor Honoris Causa by the AGH University (Krakow – Poland) in 2008.

He has taken part in the creation of two technological companies. He is actually managing partner and scientific consultant of NanoScale Biomagnetics -Spin off of the University of Zaragoza, since 2008- and Nanoimmunotech -Spin off of the University of Zaragoza and University of Vigo since 2009. He holds 11 patents related to his research projects (3 of them with international extension).

His research has been developed in Magnetism and Magnetic Materials. Along the past few years his research activity is focused on the magnetic properties of nanostructured materials and the application of nanotechnology in biomedicine.
He is first author or co-author of 435 publications -424 papers belonging to the Science Citation Index (29 of them cited more than 100 times).

Discover FINA